Class of 2020 Convocation Ceremony

group photo of the class of 2020 orientation

April 29, 2020


Speaker Introduction & Barbara C. White Lecture

Class of 2020 Slide Show


Pledge & Closing Remarks

Dr. Krista Vandenborne

Dr. Mark Bishop & Dr. Steven Z. Goerge


 Dr. Judi Schack-Dugré & Dr. Kim Dunleavy

Dr. Mark Bishop

Steven Z. George, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Barbara C. White Lecturer

photo of Steven George

Steven Z. George PT, PhD, FAPTA is Vice Chair of Research in Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Duke School of Medicine and Director of Musculoskeletal Research at the Duke Clinical Research Institute.  Dr. George was recently named the Laszlo Ormandy Distinguished Professor in Orthopaedic Surgery.  His physical therapy training was completed at West Virginia University, his PhD is from the University of Pittsburgh.  Dr. George completed a post-doctoral fellowship at the University of Florida and was on faculty there from 2004-2016, prior to transitioning to Duke University.  Dr. George’s primary interest is research involving biopsychosocial models for the prevention and treatment of chronic musculoskeletal pain disorders. His long-term goals are to 1) improve accuracy for predicting who is going to develop chronic pain; and 2) identify non-pharmacological treatment options that limit the development of chronic pain conditions.

His research has been supported by the National Institutes of Health, Department of Defense, Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute, Brooks Rehabilitation, Orthopaedic Section of the American Physical Therapy Association, University of Florida, and Foundation for Physical Therapy. Dr. George and collaborators have authored over 250 peer-reviewed publications in leading medical, physical therapy, orthopaedic, rehabilitation, and pain research journals. Dr. George has been recognized with research awards from the American Pain Society, International Association for the Study of Pain, and American Physical Therapy Association.  He currently serves as a Contributing Editor for Physical Therapy and Editorial Board Member for the Journal of Pain and Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. Dr. George is an immediate past member of the Advisory Council for the National Center for Complimentary and Integrative Health (2019) and was a planning member and presenter at the National Academies Role of Nonpharmacological Approaches to Pain Management workshop (2018). He is currently serving as co-chair for the Low Back Pain Clinical Practice Guidelines (Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy, American Physical Therapy Association) and panel member for Clinical Practice Guidelines, Treatment of Chronic Musculoskeletal Pain in Adults (American Psychological Association). 

Class of 2020

Melissa S. Balbirer

Hannah Benoit Belles

Alisa M. Bhagat

Brandi Marie Black

Luke Harrison Brown

Christopher Michael Bruscato

Aaron Andrew Capera

Ioana Daniela Cardei

Nicole  S. Casagrand

Rebecca E. Chamberlain

Nicole Diane Chase

Tommy Leon Coffey Jr.

Andrew Francis Collins

Korey D. Cooke

Sarah Burton Cooke

Nicole Cox

Anna C. Davis

Courtney Taylor Deason

Erin Lee Dickson

Abby E. Dillard

Seth M. Donelson

Soha Elsayed

Eleyn B. Fangonilo

Renée Lynn Fontana

Alexander deHeptner Franklin

Mariana Rita Franz

Allison Elizabeth Gaia

Adriana Lynn  Garcia

Flora Virginia Eleace  Gatewood

Mutsa Mary Godza

Ryan E. Guettler

Katherine Broomfield Ihlenfeldt

Katherine M. Ingerto

Alison  Lynn Irwin

Jacob R. Irwin

Trevor  A. Jackson

Ethan Ronald Jedziniak

Bijan Kassebnia

Albert  Joseph Klimczak

Luke J. LaMarre

Adam  Salvatore Lauretta

Andrea D. Lazo

Ryan T. Le

Jonathan W. Lewis

Aubrey Logan

Ashley Anne Lowdermilk

Brooke N. Lucas

Benjamin A. Matalon

Erin Brigid Meldrum

Mackenzie Nicole Morgan

Matthew D. Oakes

Kimberly Sapienza Patton

Carolyn Delaney Payne

Amanda Peet

Maria Jean Rademacher

Erica A. Richardson

Regina Camberos Rios

Mitchell Gregory Robbins

Samuel J. Rose

Courtney Jean Smithgall

Alec Michael Spano

Sidney Jane Srivibul

Dana A. Thomas

Austin T. Unger

Lauren Rachael Vigliotti

Lydia Ware

Kaitlyn Nicolle Wasson

Erin Christine Waterman

Jordan A. Weise

Kimberly M. Wilson

Tori Ann Wilson

Stephanie A. Zwicker

Physical Therapy Pledge

I pledge to hold faithful to my responsibility as a physical therapist;

To use the highest science and skills of my profession at all times;

To refrain from treatment when it will not benefit the patient;

To exercise all aspects of my calling with   dignity and honor.

I commit myself to the highest ideal of service, learning, and the pursuit of knowledge.

These things I do swear.

Convocation Meet and Greet

Virtually join our faculty immediately following the Convocation Ceremony and say your farewells.