12th Annual Neuromuscular Plasticity Symposium held

PHHP Dean Dr. Michael Perri (L) with Graduate Student and Poster Winner Christopher Lacko, NMPT Program Director Dr. Krista Vandenborne and Co-Director Dr. David Fuller at the 12th Annual Neuromuscular Plasticity Symposium Poster Award Ceremony.

More than 150 attendees gathered for the 12th Annual Neuromuscular Plasticity Symposium plenary lectures by keynote speakers Joseph Jankovic, MD, Chet Moritz, PhD, and Craig M. McDonald, MD. A poster session at University House highlighted the research of 43 Health Science Center graduate and post-doctoral students. The program also welcomed two Symposium Scholars who were selected from a national pool of candidates: Lila Wollman from University of Arizona and Alec McKenzie from University of Utah.

Congratulations to the following graduate students, each of whom received a $500 travel award: (Mentors are in Parenthesis) Abhi Batra (Dr. Krista Vandenborne); Rachel Kelley (Dr. Leo Ferreira); Christopher Lacko (Dr. Christine Schmidt); Trevor Lentz (Dr. Steven George); Raele Robison (Dr. Emily Plowman)

Congratulations also to Dr. Arash Tadjalli (mentored by Dr. Gordon Mitchell) who won the Post-doctoral $250 travel award.